This is the official website of The Indian Science Congress Association, Kolkata, India.

VISIT : 106th Indian Science Congress


Jawaharlal Nehru Prize

On the occasion of 50 years of Independence of India, the Indian Science Congress Association instituted an annual award, named as "Jawaharlal Nehru Prize" from 1998-99, to be given to organisations (preferably NGOs) for Popularisation of Science. The award carries a cash amount of One lakh alongwith a Plaque. The award will be presented by the Prime Minister at the inaugural function of Science Congress to a duly authorised representative of the organisation. Such a representative will be paid TA/DA (within the country) as per ISCA rules for receiving the award.

Nominations for these awards are invited from Members of the Council of ISCA and the final selection is made by a Selection Committee comprising of General President, General Secretary (Scientific Activities), Treasurer, one Expert for each of the Awards (nominated by the General President) and General Secretary (Membership Affairs).


The organisation has to be a duly registered body within India.

The organisation should have sustained interest in popularising science as evidenced by relevant activities.

The Award will be made on the basis of the activities carried out during the last five years.

The last date for receiving applications (in prescribed proforma) is July 31 each year.

The Executive Committee in its meeting held on January 01,2019 resolved that while selecting ISCA awardees for ISCA awards their H index and Citation index (in SCOPUS and Google Scholar ) would be taken into account.

A professional body under Department of Science & Technology, Ministry of Science & Technology, Government of India

Home   |   Photogallery   |   RTI   |   Deadlines   |   Quotation   |   Contact Us   |   Terms & Conditions   |   Privacy Policy   |   Copyright Policy   |   Sitemap

Copyright © 2012 Indian Science Congress Association. All rights reserved.
Developed by : Experis IT