This is the official website of The Indian Science Congress Association, Kolkata, India.

VISIT : 109th Indian Science Congress


Asutosh Mookerjee Memorial Award

To perpetuate the memory of Sir Asutosh Mookerjee, the first General President of Association and a great educationist of the country, this annual award was instituted by the Association during its Platinum Jubilee Celebration in 1988 to honour a distinguished scientist of the country.

The award carries a Gold Medal. The awardee is entitled to TA (Air Fare – economy Class- within the country) as per ISCA rules for attending the Annual Session of The Indian Science Congress Association in which he/she will receive the award.

The award is presented to the recipient either in the inaugural or Valedictory function of the Annual Session of The Indian Science Congress Association.

Nominations for the award are invited from Members of Council of ISCA.

The Executive Committee in its meeting held on October 13, 2012 resolved that a person shall not be eligible for more than one award /lecture in his lifetime. No one (except ISCA young scientist awardees) shall be given the second ISCA award under any circumstances.

The Executive Committee in its meeting held on January 01, 2019 resolved that while selecting ISCA awardees for ISCA awards their H index and Citation index (in SCOPUS and Google Scholar) would be taken into account.

The Executive Committee in the Meeting held on October 15, 2019 resolved that for Asutosh Mookerjee Memorial Award, any life member of not less than Twenty years of standing or continuous Annual Member of not less than Twenty years of standing and also with Twenty years of teaching and research experience in University / College or as a scientist in Government recognized Laboratory/ institution can be nominated by a Council member. It is also recommended that the heads of the organizations, which are providing funds to ISCA in any form, cannot be nominated by a Council member for consideration of any award.

There is no expert for the selection of this award. The General President himself / herself selects the award out of the nominations received from the members of ISCA Council.

The last date for receiving nomination is July 31 each year.

A professional body under Department of Science & Technology, Ministry of Science & Technology, Government of India

Home   |   Photogallery   |   RTI   |   Deadlines   |   Quotation   |   Contact Us   |   Terms & Conditions   |   Privacy Policy   |   Copyright Policy   |   Sitemap

Copyright © 2023 Indian Science Congress Association. All rights reserved.